MINUTES UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON UNDERGRADUATE COUNCIL September 1, 2004

A meeting of the University of Houston Undergraduate Council convened at 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, September 1, 2004, in the Boardroom, Room 220 E. Cullen.

Members Present: Ed Apodaca, Margot Backus, Betty Barr, Roger Blakeney, Joel Bloom, Simon Bott, Elaine Charlson, James Conyers, Sarah Fishman-Boyd, Michel Friedberg, Morgan Geddie, Horace Gray, Richard Kasschau, Ross Lence, Mario Lucchesi, William Munson, Richard Scamell, Larry Williams

Members Absent: Luces Faulkenberry, Robert Mayes, Lynn Simpson, Barbara Snelling, Rebecca Achee Thornton, John Zemanek

Guests: Jyoti Cameron, CLASS; Scott Perry, Undergraduate Research; Dan Wells, Faculty Senate

Staff: Brian McKinney and Jeanette Morales

I Call to Order

Council Chair Larry Williams called the meeting to order at 3:06 p.m. Minutes from 6/29/04 were approved as written.

II Announcements

- A Scheduled Meetings for Undergraduate Council, in the Boardroom, Room 220 E. Cullen, Fall 2004 meeting: September 29, October 27, November 17, December 8.
- B The deadline for the submission of CBM003 forms is September 27. Dr. Larry Williams asked Council members to inform their appropriate department contacts of this deadline so that committee work can commence for the fall semester.

III Appointment of Vice Chair, Committee Chairs, and Committees

- A Drs. Richard Scamell, Michael Friedberg, and Barbara Snelling were appointed to chair the Academic Policies & Procedures, Core Curriculum, and Degree Programs committees respectively.
- **B** Chair Larry Williams appointed Dr. Horace Gray as Council vice chair for the 2004-2005 academic year.
- C A committee on Undergraduate Council Bylaw Revision & Review was appointed by Chair Larry Williams. Dr. Ross Lence will serve as chair. Drs. Simon Bott and Rebecca Achee Thornton will serve as committee members.

IV Visit with Dr. Jerald Strickland, Interim Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs & Interim Provost

Interim Provost Jerald Strickland welcomed the Council members to the 2004-2005 academic year and made the following announcements:

The Provost search committee will reconstitute their search later in September 2004.

The Board of Regents have created a Strategic Planning Process constituted of eight strategic principles which states how the university system can serve as a valuable resource to the community. This Strategic Planning Process represents input from the UH community and the general public from a series of hearings held in the spring of 2004. These eight strategic principles and initiatives can be found on the Faculty Senate website and the UH System website.

Realignments in the Division of Academic Affairs have been made. Enrollment Services reports to Academic Affairs which went into effect June 1, 2004. Effective September 1, 2004, Information Technology reports to Academic Affairs. In addition to the departmental realignments, new positions have

been created effective September 1, 2004. Dr. Brian McKinney is the Assistant Vice Chancellor/Vice President for Academic Program Management UH System and UH respectively. Dr. Elaine Charlson is the Executive Associate Vice Chancellor/Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs UH System and UH respectively.

The Honors College along with the Provost Office appointed Dr. Scott Perry as the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Research. Dr. Scott Perry briefly addressed the issues for this new office (which is housed in the Honors College). Firstly, he would like to establish a dedicated summer research program which will pay a stipend to the student (proposed implementation date is summer 2005). Secondly, he would like to address the issue of introducing research into undergraduate academics. Dr. Perry voiced his enthusiasm for this new enterprise and would like Undergraduate Council's input in the coming months on how to make this new office function smoothly.

V Introduction of Undergraduate Council Members

VI Enrollment Admissions Standards by Dr. Elaine Charlson, Executive Associate Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs

Dr. Charlson announced to the Council that the Provost Office is developing an enrollment plan to increase enrollment while maintaining diversity. She voiced the need for college deans to take a leadership role in this process. Thus, the Pre-planning Taskforce on Admission Standards has been appointed to examine data and establish three to four options for admission standards. Membership consists of Arthur Warga (chair), John Antel (CLASS), Ray Flumerfelt (ENGR), James Conyers (AAS), Tatcho Mindiola (MAS), Barbara Chapman (MATH), John Hardy (NSM), Giles Auchmuty (FS), Agnes DeFranco (HRM), John Quintanilla (SGA), Ed Hugetz (Acad. Affairs), Libby Barlow (IR), Susanna Finnell (ADMIS), Michael Olivas (serve as a resource member), and Elwyn Lee (serve as a resource member).

The Pre-planning Taskforce on Admission Standards plans to be a three-year long activity. The first year would consist of creating an enrollment marketing plan and make a recommendation to the Executive Associate Vice President and in turn she will pass it along to the Faculty Senate. In addition to the plan, the taskforce will examine transfer admission standards. The proposed plan and recommendation should be completed by the end of fall 2004. The second year would focus on student retention. The third year would be for reflection and assessment.

VII Subcommittee Meetings

Dr. Richard Scamell announced that the Academic Polices & Procedures Committee will meet September 15, 2004 to discuss agenda items.

Dr. Michael Friedberg, chair of Core Curriculum Committee will contact members for future meetings.

Dr. Barbara Snelling, chair of Degree Programs Committee will contact members for future meetings.

VIII Adjourned at 3:45 p.m.