MINUTES UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON UNDERGRADUATE COUNCIL March 23, 2005

A meeting of the University of Houston Undergraduate Council convened at 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 23, 2005, in the Boardroom, Room 220 E. Cullen.

Members Present: Margot Backus, Betty Barr, Joel Bloom, Elaine Charlson, Agnes DeFranco, Luces Faulkenberry, Sarah Fishman-Boyd, Michael Friedberg, Morgan Geddie, Horace Gray, Martha Haun, Mario Lucchesi, Charles Peters, Richard Scamell, Barbara Snelling, Rebecca Achee Thornton, Larry Williams

Members Absent: Roger Blakeney, Simon Bott, James Conyers, Richard A. Kasschau, Ross Lence, Robert Mayes, William Monroe, William Munson, Lynn Simpson, John Zemanek

Guests: Carol Worsnop, School of Theatre; Brian Byrnes, School of Theatre

Staff: Marilu McGregor, Jeanette Morales, and Marsha Daly

I Call to Order

Council Chair Larry Williams called the meeting to order at 3:04 p.m. Minutes from 2/23/05 were approved as written.

II Announcements

- A Scheduled Meetings for Undergraduate Council, in the Boardroom, Room 220 E. Cullen, Spring and Summer 2005 Meetings: April 20, June 8, and July 13.
- **B** Dr. Elaine Charlson, Executive Associate Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs introduced Dr. Agnes DeFranco as the Interim Assistant Vice President of Undergraduate Studies. In this capacity she will assist in initiatives to promote undergraduate retention and will work with the colleges as well. Dr. DeFranco welcomed ideas and input regarding undergraduate education from the Council and commented that she is eager to work with Council members.
- C Council chair Larry Williams announced that he will be absent during the April 20 Council meeting due to a prior commitment. Vice-chair Horace Gray will preside over the April 20 meeting.

III Election of Nominating Committee for Undergraduate Council Chair

Dr. Larry Williams called for nominations for members to be elected to the Nominating Committee for Undergraduate Chair. Committee members that were elected to serve are: Sarah Fishman, Betty Barr, Rebecca Thornton, and Mike Friedberg.

IV Committee Agenda

A For Undergraduate Council Consideration (No report)

The Council approved the following document:

UC 8487 05S: Admission Policy: Associate of Science Degree

B Degree Programs Committee (Report UC 8488 05S)

The Council approved the following documents:

UC 8484 05S:Name Change for Industrial Distribution Minor (Memo)UC 8485 05S:Information Systems Technology Proposed Degree Plan ChangesUC 8486 05S:School of Theatre: Proposed Degree Plan/Catalog Changes (Memo)

C Academic Policies & Procedures Committee (Report UC 8489 05S)

The Council received and debated the following report:

UC 8489 05S: Report: Last Day to Drop without a Grade: Proposed Policy Change

Academic Policies & Procedures committee chair Richard Scamell asked Council members to accept this report as a report "in progress" so that he may take more time to analyze the issue and submit a final report on April 20 (next Council meeting).

The Academic Policies & Procedures Committee will meet next Wednesday, March 30, 2005 to discuss this policy change.

V Adjourned at 3:55 p.m.