Skip to main content
Site Home

Top Stories

UH Architecture Dean Recognized as Distinguished Professor

Patricia Oliver, FAIA, dean of the Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture and Design, has been named one of 2019’s Distinguished Professor Award laureates by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. During her tenure at UH, Oliver has implemented several new programs that contributed to her receiving this honor, including designLAB, the professional/research arm of the college, the Hines International Studio and the Center for Sustainability and Resilience. Read more …

UH Professor Sharing Curriculum Best Practices in Indonesia

UH College of Pharmacy's Rajender R. Aparasu, Ph.D., FAPhA, professor and chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy, has been selected by the Fulbright Specialist Program to advise Atma Jaya Catholic University's administrators and faculty members in enhancing their pharmacy curriculum and academic research programs. Read more …

'Traffic Stop': Hobby School Sponsors Screenings in Houston, Austin

“Traffic Stop,” a 31-minute documentary originally aired on HBO, will be screened in both Houston and Austin, followed by a panel discussion. The “Traffic Stop” screenings and discussion are sponsored by the UH Hobby School of Public Affairs, which also will sponsor a screening of “Say Her Name” later this spring. Read more …

Faculty & Staff News

    • People come from all over Houston and the world to pursue their dreams and build their careers at the UH Cullen College of Engineering. For students like Joaquin Maldonado and Isabella Torres, they also find the love of their life. So, for Joaquin and Isabella, and for Suresh Khator, professor of industrial engineering and associate dean of graduate program and computing facilities, and UH President Renu Khator, love springs eternal on Valentine’s Day. Read more.
    • It’s long been common practice for the Federal Reserve to raise interest rates in order to steady the economy. A study by C.T. Bauer College of Business Assistant Professor of Finance Kevin Roshak and doctoral students Don Carmichael and Dimuthu Ratnadiwakara raises questions about the cost of doing so. Read more.

On Campus

    • The UH Baseball program officially dedicated the field at Darryl and Lori Schroeder Park as Don Sanders Field as part of its Fan Appreciation Day and Baseball Alumni Reunion. Don Sanders is a long-time friend and supporter of the University's baseball program. Read more.
    • UH Libraries will offer a series of workshops for faculty, researchers and students to hone their skills on a variety of research tools. Each workshop will be hands-on to get participants quickly familiar with the tools for use in their own research. The series runs through April 11. Read more.
    • UH has joined a national effort to increase diversity among faculty in STEM disciplines. The Aspire Alliance will build upon efforts already underway at UH, many spearheaded by the Center for ADVANCING UH Faculty Success. Read more.
    • UH Staff Council will host two days of free tax preparation service by representatives from AARP Foundation Tax-Aide. UH faculty, staff and students may visit the Technology Commons on Monday, Feb. 25 or Wednesday, Feb. 27 between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. to have their 2018 taxes prepared by an IRS-certified volunteer. Please review the list of what Tax-Aide volunteers can and cannot prepare before scheduling an appointment. Reservations may be made online. Register Today.