University Center Policy Board Minutes

Special Election Meeting Friday, October 5, 2007 University Center Lone Star Room

Members Present: Diane Bruxvoort, Kevin Covington, Sam Dike, Judah Johns, Micah Kenfield,

Brandon McFarland, Dr. Theresa Monaco and Josh Sarkar

Members Absent: Carol Barr, Marilyn Golub, Meryl-Ina Kizzee, David Rosen,

Kenneth Stinson and Utsavi Shah

Support Staff Present: Keith T. Kowalka, Cheryl Grew-Gillen and Linda G. Jauregui

I. Call to Order

Keith T. Kowalka called the meeting to order at 10:33AM

II. Nominations – Chairperson/Vice-Chairperson

In the first meeting held on September 21, 2007 the election of the UCPB Chairperson for the 2007-2008 fiscal year could not take place since a quorum was not present. This special meeting was held to elect the Chairperson and other officers for the UCPB. Mr. Kowalka asked for nominations for the UCPB Chairperson. Mr. Sam Dike nominated Mr. Micah Kenfield and Mr. Brandon McFarland seconded the nomination. Mr. Kenfield accepted the nomination. There were no other nominations for Chairperson. Mr. Kenfield was elected by unanimous consent as the 2007-08 UCPB Chairperson. Mr. Kowalka turned the remainder of the meeting over to Chair Kenfield. Chair Kenfield asked for nominations to fill the UCPB Vice Chairperson position. Mr. Dike nominated Mr. Josh Sarkar and Mr. Johns seconded the nomination. Mr. Sarkar accepted the nomination. There were no other nominations for the position of Vice Chairperson. Mr. Sarkar was elected by unanimous consent as the 2007-08 UCPB Vice Chairperson.

III. Nominations – Committee Chairpersons

Chair Kenfield asked for nominations to fill the following committee chair positions:

i. Facilities Use and Policy Committee

No nominations needed as Vice Chairperson Sarkar serves as Chair for this committee.

ii. Lease Operations Committee

Chair Kenfield asked for nominations for the Lease Operations Committee. Mr. Dike nominated Mr. McFarland. Ms. Diane Bruxvoort seconded the nomination. Mr. McFarland accepted the nomination. There were no other nominations for the Lease Operations Committee Chair. Mr. McFarland was elected by unanimous consent as the 2007-08 UCPB Lease Operations Committee Chair.

iii. Long Term/Current Projects Committee

Chair Kenfield asked for nominations for the Long Term/Current Projects Committee. Mr. Sarkar nominated Mr. Johns. Mr. Dike seconded the nomination. Mr. Johns accepted the nomination. There were no other nominations for the Long Term/Current Projects Committee Mr. Johns was elected by unanimous consent as the 2007-08 UCPB Long Term/Current Projects Committee Chair.

V. Meeting Adjourned

Chair Kenfield adjourned the meeting at 10:48AM

Next Meeting: Friday, October 12, 2007 at 10:30AM in the Bayou City Room