

THE UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON FRIENDS OF

WOMEN'S STUDIES

INVITE YOU TO





CONVERSE. SHARE. LEARN.

Table Talk is a fascinating combination of conversations, led by dynamic women of various cultures, professions and experience at each table.

Table Talk benefits the Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies Program at the University of Houston. The WGSS Program combines theoretical and empirical studies, to give students the tools to analyze the gender dynamics of the past and present and to build a fair future.

Buy Tables/Tickets: <u>uh.edu/class/ws</u>



CO-CHAIRS

Joy Sewing & Shreela Sharma, PhD

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Maria Reeve, Executive Editor, Houston Chronicle

HILTON AMERICAS, 1600 LAMAR, HOUSTON 77010

Ballroom of the Americas 11 am Reception | 12 pm-1:30 pm Conversations over Lunch

Self-parking in the garage by the Hilton Americas entrance on Dallas, and valet parking also available. Business Attire.



THOUGHT LEADER

H-E-B

ARCHIVISTS

Annette Bracey & Geordie Hrdlicka/Verde Wealth MaryScott Hagle Memorial Hermann Chinhui Juhn Kathryn Peek, PhD

TREND SETTERS

Colias-Fant-Farid-Mathre-Payne Houston Chronicle Melanie Gray

Yava Scott & Patricia Gardner Young SEIU Texas Carey C. Shuart UT Health Houston Anne Whitlock



SCHOLARS

Amegy Bank Leah Barton Lemar Brown & Cristina Garcia Gamboa Patricia Cabrera & Dr. Melenda Jeter Chamberlain Law Libby Cheney, Karen Kershner-Slack & Rebecca Rush **Patricia Hunt Holmes** GinRu Lee Harris County District Attorney's Office/District Attorney Kim Ogg Eliza Horn & Kendall Toarmina **Houston Public Media**



SCHOLARS CONT'D

Mandy Kao Sherry Merfish Amanda McMillian Swati Narayan & Shreela Sharma Tanya Pal UH Library



BOARD MEMBERS

Tanya Pal, President Carmen Peña Abrego, Vice President Danielle Bartz, Treasurer **Cindy Berkman** Elizabeth Chiao, M.D., M.P.H. Cristina Garcia Gamboa Patricia Hunt Holmes, J.D., Ph.D. **Cathryn Martinez** Swati Narayan Elisabeth Netherton, M.D.

Chau Nguyen
Lyndsey Ray
Guillermo de los Reyes, Ph.D.
Joy Sewing
Shreela Sharma, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.
Carey Shuart
Kendall Toarmina
Ashley Turner
Leandra Zarnow, Ph.D.



ADVISORY COUNCIL

Leah Barton
Annette Bracey
Lemar Brown
Patricia Cabrera
Caroline Fant

Eleanor Gilbane

MaryScott Hagle

Dina Alsowayel, Ph.D.

Eliza Horn Geordie Hrdlicka Melenda Jeter, M.D., M.P.H. Mandy Kao Nina Andrews Karohl Shannon Langrand GinRu Lee Susana Monteverde **Sue Payne** Kathryn Peek, Ph.D. **Beverly Robinson** Rehecca Rush Yava Scott Angela Shippy, M.D. **Carey Shuart MaryRoss Taylor Patricia Gardner Young**



HOST COMMITTEE

Rhonda Arnold, Annette Bracey, Divya Brown, Shannon Buggs, Libby Cheney, Carolyn Colias, Sarah Cooper, Cheryl Creuzot, June Deadrick, Melissa Edwards, Caroline Fant, Samina Farid, Jessica Farrar, Andrea Georgsson, Eleanor Gilbane, Shelley Gottschalk, Melanie Gray, MaryScott Hagle, Mandy Kao, Sippi Khurana, MD, Melissa King, Sultana Mangalji, Fatima Mawji, Leisa Holland Nelson, Chinhui Juhn, Brenda Mainwaring, Lynn Mathre, Amanda McMillian, Sherry Merfish, Terry Morales, Sharon Michael Owens, Sue Payne, Leila Perrin, Beverly Robinson, Sally Russ, Yava Scott, Angela Shippy, MD, Carey C. Shuart, Sannam Warrender, Aimee Woodall



CONVERSATIONALISTS

Luhahah Ahdullah

Executive Director

Tahirih lustice Center KIPP Texas Public Schools

Sehba Ali

CEO

Impact Hub Houston

Michelle Avalos Sophia Banu, M.D.

Associate Professor

Co-Founder, Deputy Director

Menninger Baylor College of

Medicine Department of Psychiatry &

Behavioral Sciences

Oni K Blair

Executive Director

American Civil Liberties Union of Texas

Barbara J. Burger Vice President, Innovation, &

Chevron

President, Technology Ventures

Helen Vollmer Caudle

Partner

4C: Caudle Crisis & Communication Counsel

Donna Chang

President & CEO

Hope Biosciences

Chine Dan

Fashion Designer, CEO Algenita Scott Davis Housing Program Mgr

Chloe Dao Boutique & Line

Ruth Dreessen

Chairman of the Board

Center for Civic and Public Policy Improvement

Cydonii Fairfax

Fxecutive VP &

Gevo Inc.

General Counsel

Metropolitan Transit Authority of

Harris County



Kathy C. Flanagan, M.D Psychiatrist & Member

COH Health Equity Response Task Force

Janavi Mahimtura

Table Talk 2022 Featured Artist

Folmsbee

Kam Franklin

Singer Cristina Garcia **Head of Marketing**

Gamhna

Beatrice Garza

Gaelyn Godwin Diana Gomez Christine Ha

Lisa Helfman Teneshia Hudspeth

Athena N. Jackson Marjorie Joseph

Retired President/CEO

Abbot & Guiding Teacher Labor & Employment Lawyer Owner/Chef

Director, Public Affairs County Clerk

Dean

Executive Director

The Suffers

Americas at Neste Renewables

Assoc for the Advancement of

Mexican Americans Houston 7en Center Chamberlain Hrdlicka

H-E-B

Harris County

The Blind Goat

University of Houston Libraries Houston Coalition Against Hate



Nicole Lander Mary Lawler Monica R. Lee

Lisa Malosky Anna Maria

Mandalakas, M.D., Ph.D.

Nataly Marks

Terry Morales Kristy Murray

Pitsami Norm

Kim Ogg

Chief Impact Officer
Executive Director
Chief of Staff
CEO & Founder
Professor of Pediatrics

Managing Director/ Region Manager

Executive Vice President Professor & Vice Chair

for Research CEO/Founder

District Attorney

Houston Food Bank Avenue CDC

NASA Johnson Space Center Lisa Malosky Productions, LLC Baylor College of Medicine &

Texas Children's Hospital

JP Morgan Chase

Amegy Bank

Baylor College of Medicine & Texas

Children's Hospital

PS Affairs & Houston Pallets

and Crates

Harris County District

Attorney's Office



Annise Parker Juanita Campbell Rasmus

Maria Reeve Maria Rios Rose Mary Salum McClain Sampson, Ph.D. Kristen Schlemmer

Paula Myrick Short, Ph.D.

Niki Vongthong Brenda Valdivia Kiran Verma President & CEO Author, Spiritual Director, Co-Pastor

Executive Editor
President & CEO
Director
Associate Professor

Legal Director and Waterkeeper

Provost & SV Chancellor/SV

President for Academic Affairs

Executive Chef
Producer & Guest Host
Chef & Owner

LGBTQ Victory Fund St. John's Downtown UMC

Houston Chronicle Waste Nation Inc. Literal Publishing

Graduate College of Social Work, UH

Bayou City Waterkeeper

University of Houston

Hidden Omakase Houston Public Media Kiran's



Tammi Wallace

Emily D. Whitehurst Mia Knight Wright Co-Founder,
President & CEO
President & CEO
Co-Pastor &
Executive Director

Greater Houston LGBT Chamber of Commerce Houston Area Women's Center The Fountain of Praise & Metamorphosis Conference



PROGRAM STAFF

Dr. Elizabeth Gregory-Director

Dr. Dina Alsowayel-Associate Director

Dr. Guillermo De Los Reyes-Associate Director LGBT Studies

Dr. Rachel Afi Quinn-Associate Professor

Dr. Zelma Oyarvide Tuthill-Assistant Professor

Dr. Aishwarya Lakshmi-Program Director

Allison Anderson, Graduate Assistant

Eleanor Beccera, Graduate Assistant



Dina Alsowayel | Cheryl Creuzot | Janavi Mahimtura Folsmbee | Yu-Ru Huang | Chau Nguyen | Angela Shippy, MD | Andrea White

UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON

FRIENDS OF WOMEN'S STUDIES

WOMEN'S, GENDER & SEXUALITY STUDIES

University of Houston Agnes Arnold Hall 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Room 624 Houston, TX 77204-3005

P 713.743.4951 F 713.743.0931 www.friendsofwomen.org