Skip to main content

PhD Job Candidates 2019-2020

Placement Director

Bent Sorensen
Graduate Director
(713) 743-3841
besorensen@uh.edu

Placement Coordinator
Amber Pozo
Graduate Program Administrator
(713) 743-3805
apozo@uh.edu

Name

Fields / 
Job Market Paper

Advisors /
References

SHREYA BHATTACHARYA

Shreya Bhattacharya

sbhattacharya3@uh.edu

832-398-6798

Website

CV

 

Development Economics, Urban Economics, Political Economy 

“Intergroup Contact and its Effects on Discriminatory Attitudes: Evidence from India”

Willa Friedman

Aimee Chin

Gergely Ujhelyi

Ruxandra Boul

Daniel Jacobs

Daniel Jacobs

djacobs@uh.edu

301-655-3535

Website

CV

 

Household Finance, Macroeconomics

"Credit Shocks and Financial Literacy Accumulation"

Bent Sorensen

German Cubas

Fan Wang

Ruxandra Boul

 

Heesuk Jung

Heesuk Gloria Jung

hjung9@uh.edu

512-605-7363

Website

CV

 

International Economics, Macroeconomics, International Trade, Time-series

“The Effects of Trade Costs and Capital Controls on Trade Imbalances”

Kei-Mu Yi

David Papell

German Cubas

Ruxandra Boul

Claire Kang

Claire Chi-Hung Kang

ckang3@uh.edu

626-247-1097

Website

CV

Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Entrepreneurship

“Entrepreneurship and Self-employment in Developing Countries: Evidence from Indonesia”

Chinhui Juhn

Aimee Chin

Elaine Liu

 

Elizabeth Luh

Elizabeth Luh

eluh@uh.edu

541-760-3982

Website

CV

 

Labor Economics, Public Economics, Crime Economics

“Not So Black and White: Uncovering Racial Bias from Systematically Misrecorded Trooper Reports” 

Vikram Maheshri

Elaine Liu

Gergely Ujhelyi

Ruxandra Boul 

Eirini Magames

Eirini Magames

 

 

 

Reza Parsi

Reza Parsi

rparsi@uh.edu

512-920-8820

Website

CV

 

Macroeconomics, Time-series, International Trade

“Another Look at the Role of Oil Supply, Demand, and Inventory Shocks” 

Kei-Mu Yi

Bent Sorensen

David Papell

 

Dhanushka Peru

Dhanushka Arunasiri

pddarunasiri@uh.edu

281-624-7598

Website

CV

 

 

 

Labor Economics, Development Economics, Applied Microeconomics

“Labor Market Opportunities and Fertility Decisions: Evidence from Sri Lanka”

Willa Friedman

Aimee Chin

Chinhui Juhn

Ruxandra Boul

Michael Walz

Michael Walz

mewalz@uh.edu

317-987-4976

Website

CV

 

Applied Economics, Immigration, Entrepreneurship

"Importing Entrepreneurship" 

Chinhui Juhn

Yona Rubinstein

Aimee Chin

Bent Sorensen